Author Topic: Facebook - How useful is it for a Seller?  (Read 14045 times)

*Brum6y*

• Knights of the RT
  • Knight of the RT
Facebook - How useful is it for a Seller?
« on: July 07, 2009, 02:02:27 AM »
The question has been raised and I have no experience to call upon.  

Certainly, there are the obvious issues about revealing too much information to risk identity theft and personal safety, but is there a place in such networking sites that presents positive opportunities for online sellers?

If so, what specific DO's and DON'Ts are there you could suggest be followed to maximise the opportunities and minimise the risks?

What success stories have you heard?
What horror stories have you heard?  
What potential problems should a Seller be aware of?

... or is it just a NO GO zone?

*smee*

• Action Group
  • Knight of the RT
Re: Facebook - How useful is it for a Seller?
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2009, 03:19:02 AM »
My unqualified opinion ...... Dont go there 

*CountessA*

• Administrator
  • Knight of the RT
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2009, 07:59:25 AM »
What I've heard about Facebook isn't encouraging, but it's definitely not my sort of thing... so I speak without experience. When I think about Facebook, the image that comes to mind is that of teenagers spilling secrets about each other and confiding to the world their own secrets.

The reality - for people who use Facebook - may be different.

At the very least, you should never include address information or personal information about yourself which could lead to the disclosure of your address. Avoid mentioning landmarks near your location, avoid uploading pictures of yourself and family, etc.

I would imagine you need to update your entries regularly; if you don't, your target audience would lose interest rapidly. You'd need to include something to entice people to your account, so it can't be all business.

Like all tools, I would think it depends upon how it's used that one could gauge its effectiveness.